Gal Beckerman, Winner of the 2012 Sami Rohr Prize.(Forward)

Our friends at the Jewish Book Council have announced the nominees for the 2013 Sami Rohr Prize for Jewish Literature. The prize carries with it much prestige already, but it has extra meaning this year given Sami Rohr’s passing just last August.

Here are the nominees:

Shani Boianjiu for The People Of Forever Are Not Afraid
Ben Lerner for Leaving The Atocha Station
Stuart Nadler for The Book Of Life
Asaf Schurr for Motti
Francesca Segal for The Innocents

A great list, stock with writers we’ve written about before:

Last summer, Rachel Shukert made the parallel between Francesca Segal’s The Innocents and its portrayal of North London’s Jews with Edith Wharton’s take on New York.

Back in August of 2011, Sara Ivry wrote about Stuart Nadler’s take on family and memory.

Back in December, Tal Kra-Oz sat down with Shani Boianjiu near her village in Israel by the Lebanon border and talk about her first book.

Josh Lambert talked a bit about Asaf Schurr back in 2011.

Congrats to the nominees!

Earlier: Remembering Sami Rohr
2013 Sami Rohr Prize for Jewish Literature [JBC]